Obsessed????

Well, I guess that depends on who you ask. I was a little hesitant to tell Kurt that I bought, yet another, pair of Bogs yesterday. Bogs Clogs! This, after getting the Bogs Burnside sneakers a couple of weeks ago. I actually should blame T; she’s the one who introduced me to Bogs in the first place. But then, I guess I can’t blame her for my lack of will power. Whatever.

Since I’m always itching to get out in the garden at this time of year, I usually end up doing the next best thing…buy garden stuff! Last year I was on the search for the perfect garden shoe. I bought the Sloggers and was quite happy with them but I don’t think they are going to make it another season. The clogs will be great for slipping on/off and light gardening but for serious gardening a closed shoe or boot will be in order.

Yesterday I went to the Wisconsin Garden Expo in Madison. After really enjoying it a couple of years ago, I was anxious to go. I even signed up for the “Garden to Table” dinner. What a disappointment. The show itself was so crowded I could hardly move. It was pretty much nothing but vendors selling cheesy garden ornaments and other crap. There were a few booths that had something of interest…of course, McFarlane’s with their large selection of Bogs…I found some peony seeds (Crinkled White Japanese Lactiflora) at the Peony Society booth…and I was able to score some tomato, parsley and basil seeds. Also found some Soft Tie garden wire because I can always use that around the garden. I did get to a few seminars…Grape Growing 101, Winter Hardy Grasses and Dividing Peonies. They were ok but nothing I couldn’t have found on line. The dinner was so/so. A fundraiser for Wisconsin Public Television. I expected some friendly garden conversation but unfortunately no one at my table was interested in talking much at all. Oh well, next year I’ll just save the money and buy more plants!

I did manage to get out in the garden earlier this week…February 6th to be exact. It’s not the earliest I’ve ever been out…several years ago we had a nice spell in January and I got out to clean up the front bed which I had neglected in the Fall. This time I worked on the iris/coneflower bed in the front. Felt so good to get my hands dirty! Unfortunately the rest of the week wasn’t so nice and then we had about 3 inches of snow on Friday! Guess it will be awhile before I get to go out again.

Leave a Reply

