Dog Days

Yikes! It’s been a long time since I last blogged. Our amazingly beautiful Spring gave way to one heck of a heat wave. Diēs caniculārēs. The dog days of summer. The name comes from the ancient belief that Sirius, also called the Dog Star, in close proximity to the sun was responsible for the hot weather. Most of my plants are now writhing in pain thanks to the scorching sun and lack of water. After being at the lake for the past month I came home to a brown lawn and droopy plants. Thankfully Kurt was able to manage watering the window boxes but not much else. The lake garden looks considerably better despite quite a bit of deer damage. And of course Roxy just thinks the dog days of summer are all about her!

Roxy takes a load off at the end of the dock at the end of the day!
 
20120709-230124.jpg
From the fuzzy rosette the first year to the beautiful yellow flowered stalk the second, I’ll welcome Mullien in my garden every time!
20120709-230337.jpg
T and I paid a little visit to Louise on Hixon Road earlier in June. We came away with quite a load.
20120709-230422.jpg
Mom bought me these lilies a few years ago…they have become prolific bloomers despite being moved around the garden from time to time.
20120709-230651.jpg
I think this is a Spicebush Swallowtail, Papilio troilus, but I’m not 100%. Whatever it was it sure was a beautiful creature that thoroughly enjoyed my lilac bush.
Leave a Reply

