The Best Laid Plans

It’s a good thing I am a flexible person.  Changes in plans don’t typically ruffle my feathers.  I’m a go with the flow, when life gives you lemons make lemonade type.  Thank goodness, because this summer my mom’s back surgery and subsequent complications found me packing for the Sunshine State in the middle of July.  Having spent a miserably hot August in Orlando several years ago, I swore never to go to Florida in the summer again.  Never say never.

It was in the 90s when I arrived.  On the bright side it hit 100 in Milwaukee at the same time.  Seems I inadvertently came to Florida to beat the heat!  Aside from being here with my mom and dad I really haven’t done much.  I have, however, been able to enjoy some of the wonderful Florida flowers that I can’t grow at home.  I even picked up an Agapanthus which I plan to take home in my suitcase (don’t ask!).   I’ve been here for two weeks; mom is out of the hospital and doing well and I just booked my return flight.  Wisconsin, I’m coming home!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

