C. O. L. D…Cold!!!

2014’s Polar Vortex has sent shivers far and wide this winter.  I surely hope that nothing too extreme is happening beneath the massive snow cover.  Snow is supposed to provide some insulation for the plants below, right?

As usual, we waited until the last minute to get our Christmas wreath for the house.  So in the middle of the first snow storm we ventured out in search of the perfect one.  Last years wreath was way too small so I insisted it must be BIG.  Unfortunately we waited just a little too long and there were no 60+ inch wreaths to be found.  But we persevered and ended up at Prospect Hill Garden Center in New Berlin, WI.  I  immediately spotted the biggest, fullest, most beautiful wreath I had ever seen.  It came with a pretty hefty price tag, which is why it will probably not come down until Memorial Day…gotta get my moneys worth, you know!
IMG_5188

Getting the wreath up on the peak of the house was another story…suffice it to say that son, Michael arrived in the nick of time to assist with the hoisting.  Definately worth all the pain and effort, don’t you think?!!

DSC_9108

Next order of business was to fill the window boxes with evergreens and jazz up the patio a bit.  The Polar Vortex made the job of making ice candles a cinch.  And who could say no to free boxwood and spruce branches from a fellow Master Gardener?

Meanwhile, up at the lake it was even colder.  Cold like I had never experienced before.  I’ve lived in Wisconsin for almost 35 years and I don’t ever remember a winter with these crazy cold temps.  But being one who always looks to the bright side, I immediately went into full on ice candle production mode.  This pic is from Christmas Eve…it was absolutely heavenly!

IMG_5255

2014 arrived with colder temperatures still!  Holy Frosty Eyelashes, Batman…it got REALLY cold!  By the next week we got up to the 30s for a couple of days but then right back to frigid. Oh, and more snow.

IMG_5311

The fluctuations in temps created the perfect ice storm.  It looked beautiful…diamonds everywhere.  This picture does not do justice to how the trees glistened in the sunlight.

DSC_9124

Snowshoeing is just a given when there is snow like this.  Roxy came along and had a heck of a time finding her ball in the drifts.  Winter wonderland, indeed! 

IMG_5259

Our snowshoe excursion brought us out to the pond.  Simply heaven on earth!

DSC_9032

So there you have it; my winter in a nutshell.  Robert Louis Stevenson describes it even better.

Winter-Time

Late lies the wintry sun a-bed,
A frosty, fiery sleepy-head;
Blinks but an hour or two; and then,
A blood-red orange, sets again.
Before the stars have left the skies,
At morning in the dark I rise;
And shivering in my nakedness,
By the cold candle, bathe and dress.
Close by the jolly fire I sit
To warm my frozen bones a bit;
Or with a reindeer-sled, explore
The colder countries round the door.
When to go out, my nurse doth wrap
Me in my comforter and cap;
cold wind burns my face; and blows
 It’s frosty pepper up my nose.
Black are my steps on silver sod;
Thick blows my frosty breath abroad;
And tree and house, and hill and lake,
Are frosted like a wedding-cake.
 
Leave a Reply

