Spring…finally!

The snow has been gone for several weeks in SE Wisconsin and the garden has slowly been coming back to life. Emphasis on slowly! The Spring bulbs are blooming and the other perennials aren’t far behind.  It’s been such a relief to see things start to green up after the horrendous winter we’ve had.  After expecting the worst, I’ve been pleasantly surprised to see how well the plants managed to survive.  Polar Vortex or not, life in the garden thrives!

I’ve been attempting to spend at least a couple of hours in the garden every day.  I need to hurry up and get things ship-shape here before the weather gets nice up north and that garden starts calling me.  For the time being there is still quite a bit of snow and ice keeping me from doing anything outdoors up there.

So I’ve been working my way around the garden doing the big Spring Clean Up.  It’s been so nice to spend a few hours each day rather than have to cram all my work into weekends.  My body definitely appreciates this whole retirement thing!

I took some time to enlarge the front garden a little…5 inches here, 5 inches there! 😉

Image

 

Notice that cute little pansy bowl on the left?  Being desperate for a little color, I scooped up some pansies from Mileager’s in Racine knowing they would be able to handle the cold that seemed determined to stick around.  The deer didn’t waste any time chowing them down.  Guess I need to get moving and whip up a batch of deer repellent.  The DIY version is considerably cheaper than the ones from the garden centers and works just as well…if not better!
Image

 

DIY Deer Repellent (and rabbits too!)

4 C Water
1 Egg (beaten)
1 T Chili Oil (like Mongolian Fire)
1/2 C Milk (optional)

Combine ingredients in a large bowl or blender. Wisk or blend thoroughly until all ingredients are incorporated. Strain mixture through several layers of cheescloth or an extra fine mesh sieve (otherwise the egg particles will clog up the spray bottle). Pour strained mixture into a large spray bottle. Shake vigorously prior to using. I usually make several batches at a time.  The longer it festers the better!!!

Yesterday we spent the afternoon edging some of the planting beds.  I knew that as soon as I put the edging attachment on the rototiller, Kurt would come running.  It’s that man/power tool thing.  Yes, I know, it’s manipulation at it’s finest…but can you blame me??!!!  There’s still a lot of edging to do so if it stops raining this week I will have to get back at it.   I also need to remember to call for a load of mulch and compost this week.  It may still be cold out but if I don’t hit the ground running, I’m going to be in trouble.

That’s the thing about Spring.  It may have taken it’s time getting here but now that it’s arrived there’s no stopping it.  Ready or not, Spring is here…finally!!!

Image

“When the groundhog casts his shadow
And the small birds sing
And the pussywillows happen
And the sun shines warm
And when the peepers peep
Then it is Spring”
― Margaret Wise Brown

 

2 thoughts on “Spring…finally!

Leave a Reply

