I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.



I thought about taking the Master Gardener program for years.  I would go back and forth between not having enough time and not being convinced that I would learn anything new.  After all, I had been gardening for decades and I learned a lot from the master green thumb…my mom!  But then as I started to think about retiring from my long time job at the YMCA, I knew that I would have a little extra time on my hands and the volunteer component of the Master Gardener  would open doors for me to work in some wonderful gardens.  So I thought I’d give it a go.

Oh yeah, and what was that I said about not learning anything new?  HAH!!!   Mostly I learned that I really knew very little about gardening after all.  The late Maya Angelou once said, “I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.”  This pretty much sums up my experience in the Master Gardening course.  Thankfully, what I didn’t expect was that once the class was over there was now the added bonus of having an unbelievable amount of ongoing learning opportunities available.  I’ve attended lectures by garden authors, a rain garden workshop and on line training classes.  It’s endless and it’s fabulous!

Yesterday I joined a group of MGs on a field trip to the garden of Jerry Nelson, horticulturist and owner of Classic Gardens.  Jerry creates flower beds and containers for clients including most of the golf courses in the greater Milwaukee area.  No small feat, I might add!

Always a treat to go on a garden tour, this was no exception.  Jerry had tons of interesting plants including a small vineyard and apple orchard.  Following the tour he demonstrated how he goes about creating his spectacular planters, sharing his secrets for giving them that extra flower power he is famous for!

As always, I took more than a few photos.  Here’s a little slide show of our day with Jerry Nelson…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “I’ve learned that I still have a lot to learn.

  1. Margaret, I really enjoyed the slide show. The photo of the two white tulips would make a lovely anniversary card! As always, I enjoyed seeing Mav!

    1. Mary, yes it was Swiss Chard. He used a lot of plant material in his containers…I usually don’t use that much. He was also a big advocate of giving the annuals a “haircut” regularly to promote growth and bloom.

Leave a Reply

