Garden Bloggers Bloom Day – The African Violet

IMG_2842_2

It’s the middle of February and there is nothing in my garden that is even thinking about blooming so I looked around indoors to see what I could find for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day.  Well, whaddayaknow???!!!  One of my African Violets is sporting some lovely white blossoms!

IMG_2845_2

I’ll be honest, as much as I love gardening and am willing to experiment with pretty much anything in the garden, African Violets intimidated me.  Growing up, my mom had several, always with spectacular, usually purple, blooms.  I remember how she would propagate them simply by sticking a leaf into some soil.  It seemed so simple.  

Wrong!  I tried several times over the years, never managing to get it quite right, so I gave up.

Fast forward to 2015…I inherited two African Violets from my mother-in-law.  The pressure was on to keep these alive.  With Google at my finger tips I was able to find a slew of information on African Violets.  Although not especially difficult, these plants are picky about how they like to be treated.  Game on!

I followed some basic rules for African Violet care…well drained soil, bright but indirect light, temps that are not too cold and not too hot,  a little humidity,  a little bit of fertilizer and the right pot.  Told you it was simple.

I received the plants in plastic pots and while they are doing fine, it looks like they will soon outgrow their space, so I’ve decided to purchase a couple of specially designed ceramic African Violet pots.  Basically, these pots within a pot promote proper drainage.  I found lots of them available on line.

African Violet Pot

There’s tons of information out there on growing African Violets but here is something I found on the African Violet Society of America website.  It’s written for beginners…simple, straight forward and thorough and it seems to  be working for me so far!

 

Leave a Reply

