Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

Here we go!  The Great Fall Cleanup is about to commence.  Mid September is when I start to think about getting the garden ready for Winter.  Although things like this certainly don’t help…

14292488_1428564723826215_1533988910820665053_n

Stoney Creek is my go-to garden center here in the north.  I’m there about once a week if not more! Here’s some of what I came home with last week. You’ll have to stop by again to see what I end up doing with all those pots.

14141938_1423757290973625_8286074395346346909_n

I’m trying my best to resist buying new plants at this time of year.  Mostly because I have better luck planting and transplanting in the Spring.  Undoubtedly I will fail and buy some anyway!

The garden is winding down so not much is blooming anymore.  There were still a few things I was able to find and share for Garden Bloggers Bloom Day like these Hydrangeas that are getting prettier by the day.

008

I love this view of the garden with the pine trees just beyond the meadow below.  Every day, the pink of the hydrangeas gets more intense.  Gorgeous!  Last week I took some engagement photos of my niece and her fiance in this spot.  Aren’t they adorable?

1187

I couldn’t resist including this shot. The Great Blue Lobelia really performed well this year. Without a doubt, one of my late summer favorites!

003

This poor Turtlehead is very sad looking.  It’s what’s left after the deer came through a few times this summer.  Seems they always go for this plant first…must be pretty tasty! I do need to do a better job protecting it next year.

001

And then there’s the sedum.  Autumn Joy is just getting going.  In a couple of weeks she will be in full Autumn glory.

002

This is an unnamed Sedum. I brought it with me from my Wauwatosa house many years ago.  It’s settling in nicely here at the lake; almost to the point where I can divide it up.  The bees love it.

004

This adorable little Aster has never bloomed before because the deer have always gotten to it first.  I was so surprised to see this today.  Made my morning, for sure!006

Ahhh…another view of the Hydrangeas!007

One last surprise!  I spotted a few more roses in bloom.  I will definitely be remembering this one in December!

“God gave us memory so that we might have roses in December.”
J.M. Barrie

009

So I guess I better get back to thinking about that garden cleanup.  I really don’t think of it as work.  Just one last opportunity to get my hands dirty and enjoy the garden before the snow flies!

a12f349557d9a50982588cc4179b2a9b

12 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

  1. Love in the garden always makes a beautiful photo. And that garden is beautiful. Unlike you I do a fair amount of shopping in the fall. I like thinking those plants have a big headstart in the spring. This year though, any fall plantings will need careful watering because it has been extremely dry. Hardly any rain at all.

    1. I have better luck in my SE Wisconsin garden. This garden is in northern Wisconsin and it gets cold quick so unless it’s really hardy, there are issues if I don’t get it in early enough. I’m always one to push the envelope though!

  2. What a beautiful photo of your niece! The hydrangeas are gorgeous and make the perfect backdrop. I see I’m not the only one who can’t resist a bargain, no matter how many pots and plants I already have:) Happy Bloom Day!

Leave a Reply

